Getting my life 

I’ve known pain

More than most men can endure 

Still I get to know more

Is this the life I dreamed of?

I don’t think so

Is this the life I have to live?

It certainly seems so

I never felt the need to complain 

I don’t know why

Pain always seemed like a friend 

A friend who helps 

A friend who supports 

I never asked why me
Because I knew 

Pain was the true friend 

The friend who provides strength 

The friend who provides solace 

But is this how life is?

If yes, then why can’t I smile?

Why don’t I laugh?

Why do emotions elude me?

Yes, pain has made me 

Stronger, wiser, sharper

But for what? 

The pain doesn’t subside

The pain isn’t diminished 

It’s a never ending cycle.

Pain has made me

What I am today

But for what?

I don’t even know 

If I’ll ever know.

I’ve known pain 

More than most men will ever do

But for what?

I am yet to know.

2 thoughts on “Getting my life ”

Leave a Reply

